Julie Wickens was born in Brighton on 09.08.64. An only child, she grew up in Newhaven with her parents. Sadly, her father died of cancer when she was just 11 years old. Julie married her husband Andrew in 1993 and they have two children; Murray born 09.01.95 and Harvey born 23.09.97. They live in Newhaven, East Sussex.Julie with friends

Julie currently works as an aromatherapy consultant for Likisma which involves selling their products at parties and involves mainly evening work. She absolutely loves her job as it fits in beautifully with her family life and Julie loves the fact that she gets paid for socialising! Julie is very successful in her role and is shortly to take over the franchise in her region. She had previously worked as a PA for Natwest Bank for 17 years.

Zoe with mum, BrendaZoe Cox was born in Southampton on 12.7.62. She has one sister who is 14 years older than her. Zoe grew up in Southampton and moved to Sussex when she was 9 years old. She married her husband, Terry in 1990 and they have two children; Gabriella born 21.04.94 and Megan born 08.08.97. They live in Peacehaven in East Sussex.

Zoe currently works as a Teaching Assistant at Telscombe Cliffs Primary School where she has worked for the past four years. At the time of the interview Zoe was working 9 till 1 each day but she now works full time during term-time only. She loves working within education and especially enjoys being in the classroom. Zoe is currently studying for her City and Guilds Level 3 NVQ Teaching Assistant qualification.


Jean Davis, my mum was born in Brighton on 08.08.40. Nine years later her younger sister was born. As a baby and due to danger of the war years Jean went to live in Scotland and returned to Brighton when she was six years old. Jean married her husband Peter in 1969 and they had two children: me – Sharon born 30.11.70 and Julie born 26.05.73. We all lived in Brighton. Jean still lives there now.

Jean has worked in various roles ranging from shop work to factory work to bar work. She enjoyed her shop work especially designing and dressing the window displays. She worked full time until she had her children and then went to work part time only.

Jean retired in 1995 to help me after the birth of my twins. She now spends her time doing voluntary work for her local tenants association where she sits on various committees and attends many meetings in order to support her nearby community. She also likes to spend time with her grandchildren, eight year old twins William and Natasha.

Claire with mum, RitaClaire Hollingsworth was born in Colchester in Essex on 26.03.69. She had one older sister who sadly died suddenly in 1993. Claire grew up in Colchester and moved to Ilford when she met her husband, David. They were married in 1989. They have two children; James born 17.02.89 and Holly born 12.12.92. They live in Clayhall in Essex.

Claire currently works as an Assistant Studio Manager for a recruitment company based in Farringdon, London and she has worked there for the past fourteen years. She enjoys her job and is very well respected within the company for her expertise in her field. She does however find the daily commute into the city pretty tough. At the time of the interview Claire was working flexible shifts to fit around her children. However, she has since increased her hours up to full time while her husband Dave has reduced his hours and now takes responsibility for most of the childcare.

Catherine Harwood was born in Germany on 06.01.72 and has one younger brother. She then moved between Germany and America until at the age of twelve, she settled in England with her mother and brother following her father's death. She married her husband Trevor in June 1996 and they have three children; Samuel born 03.03.96, Annabel born 8.11.00 and Matthew born 03.12.01. Annabel was sadly stillborn. At the time of the interview Catherine and her family were living in Seaford, East Sussex. However, in January 2004 they all moved to Phoenix in Arizona where they now live. Catherine has never considered England as her true home and therefore wanted to return to her roots in USA.

Catherine is not currently working though she has worked as a secretary, a Body Shop Consultant and Beauty Therapist in the past. She is taking time out to enjoy raising her family and may consider returning to paid employment once her family is complete and the children are all at school.


Click here for my final thoughts and acknowledgements.

Back to top